I'm supposed to like On the Road, right? Well, I don't. I hate
it and I always have. There are a lot of reasons why I hate it. I find
Kerouac's attitude toward the world pathetically limited and
paternalistic. In
On the Road
he actually muses about how much he wishes that he could have been
born "a Negro in the antebellum South," living a simple life free from
worry, and does so seemingly without any sense of irony. On every page,
the book is about how Kerouac (a young, white, middle-class,
alcoholic) feels, and nothing more. But that's only one reason I hate
this book. The main reason I hate it is because, for me, reading
Kerouac's prose is almost physically painful. I love the ramblings of
self-centered drunks when they're self-deprecating, ironic, and/or
funny, but Kerouac was none of these things. He was a pretentious,
self-important bore who produced some of the most painfully bad and
inconsequential prose of the 20th century. Or any century for that matter and to top it all off, Kerouac chose a poor way to end the story and I agree with both Mona and Anike on how anti-climatic it was.
No comments:
Post a Comment